My Visual Notes from Medium Day

(Mostly from Zulie Rane’s Presentation)

Winta Assefa
3 min readAug 24, 2024

This Medium Day coincided with a long, scheduled monthly call for me; and I believe I had a call with the same people on a Medium Day last year as well. We also had a power cut for most of the evening, so quite a few things were getting in the way of my attending this event.

But I had seen Zulie’s email about how she’ll be one of the presenters in this year’s Medium Day. And since I’m a long-time subscriber to Zulie Rane’s newsletter, and I like her conversational, no-nonsense approach to writing, I tried my best to attend her presentation.

I was curled up on a couch in my family’s dark living room (still no lights) and took visual notes on my iPad during her presentation.

Like with her writing, Zulie did not mince words with her speech — her presentation was packed and to the point. I’ve been taking visual notes for years now, but at the pace she was going, I found it challenging to catch up.

Zulie talked about the difference between the algorithmically distributed Medium stories and the human-picked, boosted stories. When determining which story to…

--

--

Winta Assefa

Architect & Multi-passionate Creative Based in Ethiopia 🎨 I Share Simple Productivity Systems For Chaotic Creatives